Provincial Nominees Program

This program is designated to persons who have the skills, education and work experience required by the chosen province or territory. Most provinces in Canada have an agreement with the Government of Canada that allows them to nominate immigrants who wish to settle in that province and who meets the requirements to be nominated.

The province will consider the application based on its immigration needs and the applicant’s genuine intention to settle there and make an immediate economic contribution in the province.

Here is a list of the provinces and territories currently participating in this program:

• Alberta
• Manitoba
• Newfoundland and Labrador
• Ontario
• Saskatchewan
• British Columbia
• New Brunswick
• Nova Scotia
• Prince Edward Island
• Yukon
• Northwest Territories

Most of the provinces will require ties with the province or a job offer from a business within that province. There are some cases where this requirement is waived.

After being nominated by a province or territory, the candidate has to make a separate application to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) for permanent residence. A CIC officer will then assess the application based on Canadian immigration regulations.

The applicant will have to pass a medical exam and obtain a police certificate.

Provincial nominees are not assessed on the selection factors of the Federal Skilled Workers Program.